Various Artists - The Super Audio Collection & Professional Test Disc

Various Artists - The Super Audio Collection & Professional Test Disc
Item# CHDVD171
For Ordering: Acoustic Sounds | Amazon
Digital Download: HDtracks

Product Description

# Always at the forefront of digital recording technology, Chesky Records is proud to present the world's first Original DVD 96-kHz/24-bit Super Audio Disc with our Super Audio Collection and Professional Test Disc. Chesky once again sets the standard for audiophile excellence by bringing you the best-sounding recordings available. In 1988, Chesky introduced 128x oversampling recordings, a sonic leap over standard 44.1-kHz/16-bit recordings. The response was overwhelming, and the recordings fostered Chesky's legendary reputation for capturing the finest sound quality. But looking to surpass the limitations of 44.1-kHz/16-bit recording technology, and foreseeing the advent of DVDs on the horizon, Chesky was the first company in 1996 to start recording, archiving and mastering at 96/24. Now that DVD players are available, Chesky is launching a new audiophile benchmark with The Super Audio Collection and Professional Test Disc. It features original 96/24 recording of world-renowned artists like Sara K., Rebecca Pidgeon, Babatunde Olatunji and Jon Faddis, as well as up-and-coming artists like Dave's True Story. The disc also contains test tones recorded at 96/24, developed by Kevin Halverson of Muse Electronics, that will be of great use to audio professionals in evaluating 96/24 digital products. The advantage of 96/24 Super Audio DVDs can best be illustrated by comparing them to Compact Discs. CDs consist of two channels of 16-bit PCM audio sampled 44,100 times per second. A 16-bit sample can contain 65,536 possible amplitude (or "volume") levels. 96/24 Super Audio DVDs can contain 16-, 20- or 24-bit PCM audio sampled 96,000 times per second. In the case of 24-bit audio, the samples can contain up to 16,777.216 possible amplitude levels! This represents a substantial increase in the resolution and bandwidth of the recording. You'll hear more depth, textures within the music will be more apparent, heightened large and small scale dynamic contrasts will add more excitement, and, thanks to the more than doubling of the sampling rate to 96 kHz, you will experience effortless high-frequency extension and purity. You really can hear the difference. Chesky Record's Super Audio Collection and Professional Test Disc - A must-have for any audiophile. A must-use for the audio professional. Playable on DVD Video or Advanced Audio Players only (NTSC Locale Control Not Asserted) The Super Audio Collection & Professional Test Disc features music from the following artists: Sara K. # Livingston Taylor # Babatunde Olatunji # Jon Faddis # Dave's True Story # Rebecca Pidgeon # David Chesky # John Basile Quartet # Professional Test Tones produced and developed by Kevin Halverson of Muse Electronics.

Track Listings

1. Brick House
2. Isn't She Lovely
3. Naima
4. MacDougall's Men
5. mother, give me love
6. Daddy-O
7. Desmond Blue
8. Fhear a Bhata
9. Psalm II w/solo cello