Louise Rogers - Black Coffee

Louise Rogers - Black Coffee
Louise Rogers - Black Coffee
Item# SACD345
Regular price: $19.98
Sale price: $8.98

Product Description

Jazz vocalist Louise Rogers has been gradually winning over converts with her beautiful burnished tone, clear diction, flawless intonation, and impeccable musicianship. Her natural, unforced delivery harkens back to such pure singers as Peggy Lee, Ella Fitzgerald, Chris Connor, and Doris Day. And while she may possess considerable technique and a capacity to improvise and scat up a storm like her most significant role model, Ella, Rogers takes a more relaxed and restrained approach on Black Coffee, her fifth recording overall and first for Chesky Records. "...a pure incandescent voice, free of affectation or obvious influence..." -Christopher Loudon, Jazz Times "Rogers sings in her own skin, dropping the fetters of mere interpretation, to tap a wellspring of emotion...great chops and a warm, witty approach to song..." -Andrew Rowan, AllAboutJazz NYC

Track Listings

  1. Comes Love
  2. Alice in Wonderland
  3. Easy to Love
  4. Sentimental Journey
  5. Lazy Afternoon
  6. Pennies from Heaven
  7. Alright Okay You Win
  8. Black Coffee
  9. Ain't Misbehavin'
  10. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe
  11. Skylark
  12. When the Sun Comes Out
  13. Be My Baby
  14. Gentle Rain