Handel - Messiah

Handel - Messiah
Item# CD106

Product Description

Georg Frideric Handel Messiah Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Royal Choral Society Sir Malcolm Sargent, conductor Norma Procter, Contralto John Shirley-Quirk, Bass Baritone Elizabeth Harwood - Soprano Alexander Young - Tenor Arnold Grier - Organist Claude Debussy once remarked that it was amazing that Beethoven's Ninth Symphony had not been buried under the prose it had provoked. The same is true of Messiah, which, in spite of changing views as to how it should be presented, remains the most beloved and most often performed oratorio ever composed.

Track Listings

1. Overture
2. Recit - "Comfort Ye"
3. Air - "Every Valley"
4. Chorus - "And the Glory of the Lord Shall be Revealed"
5. Recit - "Thus Saith the Lord"
6. Air - "But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming"
7. Chorus - "And He Shall Purify"
8. Recit - "Behold! A Virgin Shall Conceive"
9. Air - "O Thou that Tellest Good Tidings to Zion"
10. Recit - "For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth"
11. Air - "The People that Walked in Darkness"
12. Chorus - "For Unto Us a Child is Born"
13. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony)
14. Recit - "There Were Shepherds Abiding in the Field"
15. Recit - "And Low the Angel"
16. Recit - "And the Angel Said to Them"
17. Recit - "For Unto You"
18. Recit - "And Suddenly There was with the Angel
19. Chorus - "Glory to God"
20. Air - "Rejoice Greatly O Daughter of Zion"
21. Recit - "Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind Be Open'd"
22. Air - "He Shall Feed His Flock like a Shepherd"
23. Chorus - "His Yoke is Easy"
24. Chorus - "Behold the Lamb of God"
25. Air - "He Was Despised"
26. Chorus - "Surely He Haith Borne Our Griefs"
27. Chorus - "All We, Like Sheep Have Gone Astray"
28. Recit - "All That They See Him to Scorn"
29. Chorus - "He Trusted in God that He Would Delver him.
30. Recit - "Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
31. Air - "Behold and See if there be any Sorrow"
32. Recit - "He was Cut Off Out of the Land of the Living"
33. Air - "But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul in Hell"
34. Chorus - "Who is the King of Glory"
35. Chorus - "The Lord Gave the World"
36. Air - "How Beautiful are the Feet of Them"
37. Chorus - "Their Sound has Gone Out Into All Lands"
38. Air - "Why Do the Nations So Furiously Rage"
39. Chorus - "Let Us Break Their Bonds Asunder"
40. Recit - "He That Dwelleth in Heaven"
41. Air - "Thou Shalt Break Them"
42. Chorus - "Hallelujah"
43. Air - "I Know That My Redeemer Liveth"
44. Chorus - "Since By Man Came Death"
45. Recit - "Behold, I Tell You a Mystery"
46. Air - "The Trumpet Shall Sound"
47. Chorus - "Worthy is the Lamb"
48. Chorus - "Amen"