Earl Wild - Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2

Earl Wild - Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2
Item# CD002

Product Description

Earl Wild admits that Rachmaninoff probably influenced him more than any other pianist. He remembers Rachmoninoff's toe, his tempi, his line. "Singing" is a word Wild used about Rachmaninoff's playing and his own. "Of course there are all those inner notes that must be played, but what is really important is the melody. It must sing, amd you must see that it does." And in Earl Wild's performance of the Second Piano Concerto with his friend the late Jascha Horenstein as conductor, "singing" is what we get...that and some of the finest Rachmaninoff on record.

Track Listings

1. Moderato
2. Adagio Sostenuto
3. Allegro Scherzando
4. Schubert - Tausig : Marche Militaire
5. Weber - Tausig : Invitation to the Dance
6. Rachmaninoff : Isle of the Dead