David Johansen and the Harry Smiths - Shaker

David Johansen and the Harry Smiths - Shaker
David Johansen and the Harry Smiths - Shaker
Item# JD236

Product Description

David Johansen and the Harry Smiths' Shaker is more than just a tribute to great blues legends and the infamous anthologist of folk music. This work effectively brings together a profound understanding of the folk/blues genre, Johansen's own gritty style, and a band of seasoned musicians to bring an enticingly accessible creation with traces of rock and jazz sprinkled throughout. Building on the folk accuracy of their first album, Shaker elevates this artistic concept to a new level, casting another set of classic tunes that glow with a coat of that unique Johansen character.

While David Johansen and the Harry Smiths' first album focused on the Harry Smith anthology material, Shaker sees an evolution that maintains a similar feel but brings in some classic songs from blues greats like Son House, Muddy Waters and a wonderful rendition of Charlie Patton's "High Sheriff." Respect for the musical style is obvious with Johansen's pinpoint delivery and phrasing leaving the listener aching for more after the last refrain.

Track Listings

  1. Furry's Blues
  2. I'll Go With Her
  3. Deep Blue Sea
  4. My Morphine
  5. Ham Hound Crave
  6. Let the Mermaids Flirt With Me
  7. I Can't Be Satisfied
  8. In Love Again
  9. Death Letter
  10. My Grandpa is Old Too
  11. Jailbird Love Song
  12. High Sheriff
  13. Kassie Jones
  14. The Last Kind Words