The Jimmy Cobb Quartet - Cobb's Corner

The Jimmy Cobb Quartet - Cobb's Corner
The Jimmy Cobb Quartet - Cobb's Corner
Item# SACD327

Product Description

Jazz drummer Jimmy Cobb is perhaps most famous for his role as the backbone to Miles Davis's best albums, but the unstoppable Cobb is also an excellent band leader in his own right, as evidenced in his latest release for Chesky Records, Cobb's Corner. This recording captures the Jimmy Cobb that jazz listeners who've followed his long, gratifying career expect. Cobb's Corner finds Jimmy filling out his rhythm section with legendary New York pianist Ronnie Mathews and renowned bassist Peter Washington. The chief soloist on the record is Roy Hargrove, perhaps the most versatile and surefire trumpeter to emerge in the wake of Wynton Marsalis. The musician's fortright embrace of American standards, their personal interpretations of delectable melodies and their collective, highly interactive improvisations make this a must have for any jazz aficionado. This super audio compact disc was recorded using Chesky's state of the art minimalist miking techniques to create an outstanding addition to any audiophiles collection.

Track Listings

  1. You And The Night And The Music
  2. My Romance
  3. Never Let Me Go
  4. John Charles
  5. My Foolish Heart
  6. I May Be Wrong
  7. Lotus Blossom
  8. Book's Bossa
  9. Ruby My Dear
  10. My Ship