Christy Baron - I Thought About You

Christy Baron - I Thought About You
Christy Baron - I Thought About You
Item# JD152

Product Description

What is a standard? For Christy Baron, it's Stevie Wonder as well as Cole Porter, it's the Beatles' "Got to Get You Into My Life," as well as "Body and Soul." Combining elements of pop, rhythm and blues and jazz, for Christy, the song's the thing, and when you hear her, you'll understand why. Chesky Records is proud to introduce a sonorous new voice, Christy Baron, whose intimate and sultry vocal stylings are sure to bend your ear. Christy's debut album, I Thought About You, features surprising takes on pop and jazz standards. Christy's rich vocals are given room to swing in the space of pianist Cliff Korman's sparse yet intricate arrangements. The combination of an adventurous piano trio and Christy's inviting harmonies reinvent the notion of the standard. For instance, the interplay between the instrumentalists and Christy's voice are quite involved and present a fresh take on the familiar. Listen to the pairing of Dave Finck's bass and Christy's silken tones on "Summer Soft" and "Ain't No Sunshine," and you will agree that this isn't your usual vocal album.

Track Listings

  1. Got To Get You Into My Life
  2. Round Midnight
  3. Knocks Me Off My Feet
  4. Ain't No Sunshine
  5. Night and Day
  6. Misty
  7. Columbus
  8. Body and Soul
  9. Summer Soft
  10. Somewhere Over the Rainbow
  11. I Thought About You
  12. If It's Magic