The Zephyrtine: A Ballet Story (CD363)

  1. Ben's Farm in Vermont
  2. The Zephyrtine Appears
  3. What Is This Magnificent Creature?
  4. The Zephyrtine Meets Ben
  5. Let's Visit the Planet Eudora Where the Zephyrtines Live
  6. Morning in Eudora
  7. Dance of the Ice Cream Trees
  8. Dance of the Wingless Birds
  9. Dance of the Zephyrtines
  10. Dance of the Chocolate Cows
  11. Dance of the Vegetable Builders
  12. The Red King Kalek
  13. Daissa the Green Queen
  14. Chaya the Blue Princess
  15. Ib the Monster Comes down from the Mountains
  16. Where Is the Blue Princess?
  17. The Sapphire Forest
  18. Gortee the Wise Old Talking Fish
  19. Dance of the Fish That Live in the Trees
  20. Ben and the King
  21. Let's Go Find a Real Pumpkin
  22. Ib the Monster's Cave
  23. Ben and the Blue Princess
  24. The King Gives Billy an Ice Cream Tree
  25. The Grand Celebration

Rui Massena conducts the Fundação Orquestra Estúdio’s recording of David Chesky’s fantasy for children The Zephyrtine ballet. The characters throughout the ballet are represented by specific instruments; the two main characters, Ben and the Zephyrtine, are voiced by the piccolo and the French horn. The Zephyrtine is a wonderful adventure that revolves around a little boy from Vermont, Ben, who meets a magical Zephyrtine and journeys to the enchanted land of Eudora. Eudora is a Utopian society where people are different colors, red, blue, green, and yellow! Vegetables are not grown instead built in factories, ice cream grows on trees, and fish fly. When the Blue Princess is captured by Ib the monster, it is up to Ben to rescue her and save the kingdom. Children are taken on a thrilling journey where they learn the importance of friendship and accepting cultural diversity.

Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. These new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event.

Recorded October 21-28, 2012 at Plataforma das Artes e da Criatividade in Guimarães, Portugal Fundação Orquestra Estúdio - Orchestra Rui Massena - Conductor Produced by David Chesky Recorded, edited, and mastered by Pedro Mouga and Narciso Fernandes, SPL Estúdio, Portugal Additionally mastered by Nicholas Prout This recording was made with a Neumann KU-100 Binaural head, Mytek Stereo 192 A/D converter This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.