Sugar Hill: The Music Of Duke Ellington And Billy Strayhorn (SACD333)

  1. Caravan
  2. Warm Valley
  3. In My Solitude
  4. Prelude To A Kiss
  5. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  6. Chelsea Bridge
  7. In A Mellow Tone
  8. In A Sentimental Mood
  9. Lotus Blossom

The acclaimed New York saxophonist Javon Jackson leads a celebration of the music of Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, whose collaboration began in 1938 and continued until Strayhorn's death in 1967. Jackson is joined for this session by arranger/pianist David Hazeltine, bassist Paul Gill and drummer Tony Reedus. Together they perform well-known compositions such as "Caravan," "Chelsea Bridge," and "Lotus Blossom," as well as tunes that are not usually played by quartets such as "In My Solitude." The two soloists, Jackson and Hazeltine explore the bluesier and moodier side of Ellington's music as well as ballads like "Warm Valley" and slightly more up-tempo tunes like "In a Sentimental Mood."


"A player and writer with great respect for the melody, Hazeltine can be surprisingly inventive with the harmonic and rhythmic possibilities in a tune. Unobtrusive yet frequently exciting, Hazeltine always sounds as if he is digging what he's playing, and his approach makes well-known tunes sound fresh...."

- Aaron Steinberg, Jazz Times