Structures (SACD317)

  1. Jazz Folk
  2. The Touch Of Your Lips
  3. Moon and Sand
  4. Walter Pigeon
  5. Everything I Love
  6. Embraceable You
  7. 3 For Three
  8. Turn Out The Stars
  9. Missing You
  10. How Deep is the Ocean

Structures is a relaxed album of jazz standards and original compositions from this formidable trio, all captured with Chesky's world-renowned minimalist recording techniques. "These world-class improvisers create a vibe of calm thoughtfulness, subtlety and delicate interaction on Structures," according to the album's liner notes. Abercrombie's first Chesky release came in 2003 with Three Guitars, a highly acclaimed CD/SACD that saw him going acoustic with Larry Coryell and Brazilian phenomenon Badi Assad. Jackson, meanwhile, made his Chesky debut backing Valerie Joyce on her New York Blue CD in 2005.


"This album deserves 6 stars. Abercrombie, Gomez, and Jackson should be congratulated for producing one of the most enjoyable, sublimely understated, and superbly recorded jazz recordings of our era."

- Stephen Silberman