Psalms 4, 5, And 6: Remembrance For The Victims Of The Modern Holocausts (CD203)

  1. Psalm IV: Sorrow
  2. Psalm V: Aftermath
  3. Psalm VI: Rage and Despair

Psalms 4,5 & 6: Remembrance for the Victims of the Modern Holocausts Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Stephen Somary, conductor Jan Slavik, cello Matej Drlicka, clarinet Much in the same fashion as Three Psalms for String Orchestra, on this release, David Chesky takes the listener on a dramatic, orchestral journey. This time David focused on the tragic and dehumanizing effects of ethnic hatred that enables people to kill en masse, as seen in the Jewish Holocaust and others since. David creates a powerful and emotional message by taking the listener through three unique phases of human suffering: "Sorrow", "Aftermath", and "Rage and Despair" to ultimately show that holocausts will continue to occur until our innate ability to empathize with our fellow human beings is realized.


David Chesky


"The booklet for this latest composition from David Chesky carries his ardent statement about the world's general indifference to the many holocausts of the past century and to those that continue today. The three instrumental works are all a bit over 20 minutes each and have the following subtitles: Sorrow, Aftermath, Rage and Despair. Sorrow features cello soloist Jan Slavik in some strongly elegiac passages with the orchestra. The general tenor of the works is in the spiritual, meditative style of the Eastern Europeans such as Paart and Kancheli, but with a more Western polish. So the economy-forced employment of the Czech orchestra instead of U.S. forces becomes extremely appropriate."

- John Sunier, Audiophile Audition