New York Blue (JD316)

  1. It Never Entered My Mind
  2. Blue in Green
  3. Baby Can I Hold You
  4. Fever
  5. Oasis
  6. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  7. Moon and Sand
  8. Little Wing
  9. Weaver of Dreams
  10. It's Easy to Remember
  11. Darn that Dream
  12. I Fall in Love too Easily
  13. Golden Slumbers

Chesky Records is pleased to announce the national recording debut of vocalist Valerie Joyce with the May 2006 release of New York Blue. New York Blue is a collection of classic jazz, standards, and pop tunes that showcase the singer's distinctively smoky vocal sound and nuanced performance. Producer David Chesky says, "Valerie has a great feel for the music and has one of the most unique singing voices I have ever heard."

Pianist Andy Ezrin worked with Valerie on the arrangements for the album's thirteen tracks that range from tunes by Cole Porter and Rogers & Hart to Miles Davis to the Beatles. They are joined on the album by musicians Lawrence Feldman on saxophones and Eugene Jackson and Tim Lefevre taking turns on bass for a live recording that is pure Chesky.



"Not since Cassandra Wilson's Blue Light 'Til Dawn has a vocalist cast such an entrancing spell as Valerie Joyce does on New York Blue." - Bill Milkowski