Mysterious Shorter (SACD321)

  1. Montezuma
  2. Tom Thumb
  3. Footprints
  4. Teru
  5. Witch Hunt
  6. Masqalero
  7. Beauty and the Beast
  8. Miyako

Listening to the Mysterious Shorter SACD in Surround Sound, you'll discover some interesting takes on Shorter's music. As Belden suggests in the liner notes, they've taken some of his upbeat compositions and arranged them to take advantage of the Organ, Guitar, Sax and Trumpet in the group. The SACD also does a fine job of reproducing the performances. It definitely provides a "you are there" level of performance and Chesky's minimalist recording approach with no compression and overdubs offers a nice change of pace from the very compressed sounds we all too often hear in many of today's conventional audio disc releases. Weather Report and Jazz fans will enjoy this one.

Recorded April 19, 2006 at St. Peter's Episcopal Church in New York, New York.


Nicholas Payton - Trumpet

Bob Belden - Tenor & soprano saxophone

Sam Yahel - Hammond B3 organ, keyboards

John Hart - Electric guitar

Billy Drummond - Drums

Composer: Wayne Shorter (b. 1933)


Produced by Bob Belden and David Chesky

Recorded, edited and mastered by Nicholas Prout and Rick Eckerle

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.


"Acclaimed arranger/saxophonist Bob Belden interprets the music of legendary sax man Wayne Shorter with an all-star cast of musicians. This is the sixth installment in The New York Sessions series. "All of the sound here is powerful and propulsive. Once again we have a Chesky single-point recording that employs no overdubs, no signal path compression, no multitracking, and no mixing desk. It sounds so great you'll be tempted to ask why everybody doesn't record like this."

- Wes Phillips of Stereophile