A Kiss In The Dark (JD366)

  1. Ain't We Got Fun
  2. Whip-poor-will
  3. Do You Ever Think Of Me
  4. Limehouse Blues
  5. Chicago, that Toddlin' Town
  6. Bimini Bay
  7. Nobody Knows You When You are Down and Out
  8. After You've Gone
  9. There's a Broken for Every Light on Broadway
  10. A Kiss in the Dark
  11. Indian Summer
  12. Turn Back the Universe and Give Me Yesterday
  13. Let the Rest of the World Go By
  14. Till We Meet Again

The darkly alluring, deep ­toned voice that embraces these timeless melodies from the parlor song era and Tin Pan Alley days (roughly 1910 to the early 1920s) belongs to the wonderful Alexis Cole. Called “one of the great voices of today”, Alexis has been compared to classic jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan and Anita O’Day. Cole is the recipient of a Swing Journal Gold Disc award, and has won the NY Jazzmobile and Montreux Jazz Festival vocal competitions. This time out, she goes further back in time with her quartet of guitarist Saul Rubin, saxophonist­/clarinetist Dan Block, bassist Pat O’Leary and drummer Phil Stewart to a more genteel time when sheet music was the most common method of dissemination of popular tunes. With her relaxed style, clear articulation, unhurried, conversational approach and all­knowing sense of cool, Cole and her crew strike a swinging accord on nuggets like “Ain’t We Got Fun,” “Bimini Bay,” “Whip­poor­will,” the buoyantly swinging title track and ten other tunes from yesteryear in this engaging retro revue. Everything goes down nice ‘n’ easy on this luxurious outing, and Alexis delivers with timeless charm from track to track.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band and singer appear right before you with this spacious, lush and multi­dimensional recording. You will hear some of the most natural and pure vocals ever recorded of a jazz singer.

Recorded December 19, 2013 at the Hirsch Center in Brooklyn, New York.


Alexis Cole - vocals

Dan Block - saxophone, clarinet

Saul Rubin - guitar

Pat O'Leary - bass

Phil Stewart - drums


Producer: David Chesky

Recording, editing and mastering engineer: Nicholas Prout

Assistant recording engineer: Mor Mezrich

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Recorded using a B&K Binaural head, MSB A/D Converter, and Crystal microphone cable.