Jazz Descargas (JD217)

  1. Un Poco Loco
  2. Tin Tin Deo
  3. Caravan
  4. Tumbao De Tamborito
  5. A Night in Tunisia
  6. Oye Como Va
  7. Manteca
  8. Conga Descarga
  9. The Peanut Vendor
  10. Chocolate Descarga

The Conga Kings are back with their second Chesky Records release to prove that these master congueros have more rhythmic tales to tell. Featuring Candido Camero, Carlos "Patato" Valdes and Giovanni Hidalgo, Jazz Descargas is a spontaneous celebration of modern rhythm and melody, a joyous colloquium of jazz and Afro-Cuban sounds by the likes of Machito, Dizzy Gillespie and Tito Puente. Historically, musically and conceptually, this rhythmic dream team is creating the genuine article. The Conga Kings are joined on Jazz Descargas by special guests Phil Woods, Mario Rivera, Chocolate and Jimmy Bosch.

Reviews "Jazz Descargas authentically cross-pollinates Afro-Cuban music with Jazz, thanks mainly to improvisations and solos from Phil Woods on also sax, Jimmy Bosch on trombone, the bittersweet trumpet player known as Chocolate...The empty piano chair leaves plenty of room for the congas, saxophones and guitars to dish out the against-the-beat chords that pianos normally play in Latin music to spice up the rhythms...The title track presents an original tour-de-force conga jam credited to all three congueros, beginning with an introduction that's more melody than rhythm (on congas!), and steeping for nearly eight minutes just the right mixture of interlocking virtuosity and head-bobbing, beat crazy funk."

- All About Jazz