Hobo (JD155)

  1. Me Missin' You
  2. If I Don't See You Later
  3. Brick House
  4. I Really Do
  5. Written in Stone
  6. You'll Never Walk Alone
  7. Oh Well
  8. Hobo
  9. Oughtta Be Happy by Now
  10. I Couldn't Change Your Mind
  11. Sizzlin'
  12. Moving Big Picture

Rough-and-tumble singer/songwriter Sara K.'s brilliant new record, Hobo, is her hottest and hardest-hitting effort to date. Already regarded as a star internationally, Sara is poised to make her mark on America with her fourth Chesky release, which brims with smoky, road-worn songs about love and life.

Hobo finds Sara's voice beautifully captured by Chesky's new 96/24 technology, and you'll be amazed by the range of tone and emotion that she conveys on this recording. Sara K. tells her musical war-stories with heart-cutting lyrics and tunes that you'll be singing long after the disc has stopped playing. Hobo also provides Sara with an opportunity to bring her blusey, knowing style to a number of diverse covers. "Brick House" is a witty, stripped-down acoustic take on the Commodores' smash, featuring dynamite upright bass work and irresistible percussion, while the Rodgers and Hammerstein favorite, "You'll Never Walk Alone," from Carousel , gets an intricate re-working that sounds far more barroom than Broadway. And a version of Fleetwood Mac's "Oh Well" showcases Bruce Dunlop and Hui Cox's furious fretwork alongside some breathtakingly raw acappella vocals by Sara. Another Hobo highlight is Sara's R&B-flavored duet with vocalist Matthew Andrae on the true-to life "Oughtta Be Happy By Now." This is undoubtedly Sara's strongest work to date and listening to her is an invitation to experience a life.