Here's To My Lady (SACD268)

  1. Superette
  2. Johnny Hodges
  3. Another Love Song
  4. Canadian Sunset
  5. Charles Christopher
  6. Butter
  7. Visions of Gaudi
  8. Yours Is My Heart Alone
  9. Blue and Sentimental
  10. Origins
  11. Here's To My Lady
  12. Waltz For Debby
  13. Just Us

Phil Woods, the searing Alto saxophonist and clarinetist, calls his occasional expanded combo 'the Little Big Band. ' Here's To My Lady, the octet's first recording, offers up a hot band with inventive solos and big-sounding, imaginative ensembles. This is an album with no let downs.


"It's the perfect arrangement for his gleaming virtuosity. He couldn't have picked a supporting cast that was more understanding and impeccably reactive. They wrap beauty inside beauty. To make it even better, the sound is especially marvelous on this Chesky CD." - Jazziz