Havana Cafe (JD60)

  1. Havana Cafe
  2. Jean Pauline
  3. The Search
  4. Look At You
  5. Improvisation
  6. Contradanza
  7. Who's Smoking?
  8. The Return
  9. Bossa Do Brooklyn
  10. What Are You Doing Tomorrow Night?

You could fit Paquito D'Rivera neatly into a box labelled Jazz meets Latin, a fashion going back decades before the present vogue. Paquito D' Rivera has transformed jazz and Latin music and his new recording Havana Cafe represents a major breakthrough in this transformation of style and the grasp for musical purity.


"This album may well be his best yet¦This is exciting music played by an exciting group of musicians, but it is the leader himself who dominates with his charateristic high energy, virtuosity sensitity and wit."

- Tom Jacobsen, Jazz Times