Echoes Of Brazil (JD154)

  1. Batucada (Nos E O Rio)
  2. Abismo De Rosas
  3. Escadao
  4. Emotiva No 1.
  5. Sem Titulo
  6. Bachianinha No. 1
  7. Interrogando
  8. Tempo Feliz
  9. Uma Valsa E Dois Amores
  10. Estudo Para Violao
  11. Jorge Da Fusa
  12. Pixaim
  13. Furiosa
  14. Farewell

One of the most exciting and innovative guitar players performing today is Brazil's Badi Assad. A virtuoso whose technical ability never overshadows the visceral impact of her playing, Assad, is, quite simply, a wonder to behold. On her third Chesky release, Echoes of Brazil, Badi pays homage to the trend-setting and boundary-breaking guitarists who influenced and shaped her style. This disc is the most moving and tuneful history lesson you'll ever have starting with Assad's interpretation of Isaias Savio's "Batucada" and including rendition of works by Luis Bonfa, Baden Powell and her brother Sergio.


Badi Assad - Vocals, Guitar

David Finck - Acoustic Bass

Jamey Haddad - Percussion

Valtinho - Percussion

Production: Produced by Sergio Assad, Badi Assad and David Chesky

Recorded by Bob Katz

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.


"Brazil's musical depth and breadth is endlessly amazing [and] Badi Assad, only the latest in a long line of impressive musical Brasilieras, enchants us with her classical/pop convergence on guitar."

- CD Review