Bluesmen (JD89)

  1. Big Boss Man
  2. Mama Let Me Lay It On You
  3. Prison Bound Blues
  4. Jesus Is Mine
  5. The Little Red Rooster
  6. Blake's Rag
  7. A Shanty In Old Shanty Town
  8. Broke Down Engine
  9. Good Morning Little School Girl
  10. St. Louis Blues
  11. The Things I Used To Do
  12. Sick Bed Blues
  13. Burn Your Bridges
  14. Goin' To The River
  15. Prison Blues
  16. Keep Your Hands Off Her

Both John Cephas' and Phil Wiggins' instrumental styles exemplify what has been termed as "Piedmont" or the "East Coast" blues tradition and connects with the styles of other major Piedmont artists especially Blind Boy Fuller, Gary Davis, and Sonny Terry. Cephas and Wiggins current compilation remains centered in their regional tradition of acoustic guitar and harmonica, offering an energetic and soulful option to contemporary electric blues.


"This audiophile DDD disc from Piedmont bluesman John Cephas & Phil Wiggins is a real treat for those who like a little refinement in their blues and roots music."

- James Lien, New Music Report