Black Coffee (SACD345)

  1. Comes Love
  2. Alice in Wonderland
  3. Easy to Love
  4. Sentimental Journey
  5. Lazy Afternoon
  6. Pennies from Heaven
  7. Alright Okay You Win
  8. Black Coffee
  9. Ain't Misbehavin'
  10. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe
  11. Skylark
  12. When the Sun Comes Out
  13. Be My Baby
  14. Gentle Rain

Jazz vocalist Louise Rogers has been gradually winning over converts with her beautiful burnished tone, clear diction, flawless intonation and impeccable musicianship. Her natural, unforced delivery harkens back to such pure singers as Peggy Lee, Ella Fitzgerald, Chris Connor, and Doris Day.

BLACK COFFEE is her 5th recording, and finds Rogers taking a more relaxed and restrained approach over 12 songs, including standards "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Gentle Rain" and a moving take on "Alice In Wonderland" as well pop numbers, such as Peggy Lee's 1956 hit "Black Coffee."