Amazonia (JD45)

  1. Aviao
  2. Antonio's Song
  3. Cigano
  4. Solidao
  5. Amor
  6. Jungle
  7. Sonhando
  8. Amazonia
  9. Illuminados
  10. Olinda
  11. Mae Terra
  12. Prece

Take a trip to the heart of Amazonia with this amazing recording. The disc includes "Antonio's Song," Michael Franks' bossa nova tribute to the masterful Antonio Carlos Jobim. Another highlight is Ivan Lins' lovely "Iluminados."

Recorded July 18, 19 & 21, 1990 at RCA Studio A in New York, NY.

Personnel: Ana Caram - Vocals, Guitar

David Finck - Bass

Portinho - Drums

Leandro Braga - Piano

Steve Sacks - Flute, alto flute, alto saxophone

Ted Lo, Rick Baitz - Synthesizers

Cyro Baptista, Tiberio Nascimento - Percussion

Lizzie Bravo, Lillian Holtzclaw, Vera Jeger, Adriana Rios, Kyoko Hirano, Leo Peeters, Rick Baitz, Tiberio Nascimento, Alexandre Lolli - Chorus


Produced by David Chesky

Recorded by Bob Katz

Recorded using a specially modified microphone with all tube MANLEY REFERENCE electronics by David Manley from Vacuum Tube Logic of America and B & W 801 Matrix 2 monitor speakers.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.


"A second gorgeous package from South American guitarist Caram, still reminiscent of the cloying "Girl From Ipanema" but far more digestible than 99% of the junk being passed off as 'ethnically important.' As ever, it's a sonic delight, fortunately rising above other audiophile titles because Ms. Caram has talent."

- Hi Fi News